Jibreel's Journal

Book review: The Information

3/5 stars

It’s an informative book, a tour of how our understanding develops in regards to how it transfers from place to place.

There are many interesting bits, although I can’t pin point one main idea other than the fact that by the time I finished the book I know more but actually less. I know I am contradicting my self, but there you go. That’s what happens when you read too much about a subject.

I haven’t heard about Ada Lovelace prior to this book and It was quite interesting how she could conceive of a computing machine 100 years before Alan Turing.

Redundancy is an antidote to misunderstanding, I learned that from the book.

I think we live in an age were there is too much information, all too much. We need to understand it more in order to have a better control of it in our daily lives, although I must point out that this book deals mostly with how information transfer technology developed. But very interesting non the less.

An interesting book but don’t expect a revelation here as there no main highlight take way. But I recommend reading it if this subject interests you. Well written and comprehensible.

“Information doesn’t mean knowledge, and knowledge doesn’t mean wisdom”